Board of Directors

The ETS Board of Directors is responsible for the overall direction of the organization’s programs and its business operations, and is governed by the Articles of Incorporation and Bylaws in its work. The Board, approved by the ETS membership, is composed of representatives from diverse member organizations. The Board of Directors includes members from large, mid-size and emerging organizations, as well as from the Biotechnology Innovation Organization (BIO) and CropLife International (CLI).

Rebecca Thompson (Bayer), Excellence Through Stewardship Chair, is an established leader with over 20 years’ experience working in the agricultural industry and is currently the Head of Stewardship, Compliance, and Quality for Bayer Crop Science and previously held a similar role in Monsanto.   In this role, she provides global leadership for the establishment of stewardship polices and sets strategic direction for the responsible development, launch, and use of products through partnerships with all business functions to ensure the safety and integrity of products and License to Operate.   She has prior experience in many other aspects of plant biotechnology such as discovery, early product development, and Regulatory.  She leverages her diverse technical background to be an impactful leader that creates highly engaged teams to address complex challenges, drive change initiatives, and develop individuals to maximize their potential.   She also serves on the CropLife International Stewardship Committee.  She received B.S and M.S. degrees in Biology from Southern Illinois University.

Scott Mundell, (Corteva Agriscience), is the leader of Global Biological Permitting and Compliance and has oversight of regulatory compliance for all biology within Corteva as well as helping guide the implementation of ETS across the organization.  Scott has over 25 years of experience in the agriculture biotechnology space, with 20 years in the regulatory and stewardship arena.  He spent his early career in insect trait discovery and was part of the team that developed the Herculex® insect resistance traits.  In addition to his oversight of regulatory compliance, he also plays key roles in the development of regulatory and stewardship policy.  Scott received a B.S. degree in Biochemistry from Purdue University.

Anja Matzk, Ph.D. (KWS SAAT SE), is the Head Regulatory Affairs Biotechnology and responsible for all global regulatory activities of KWS with GMO in Research and Product Development, covering contained use, field trials and market introduction.  She has more than 20 years experience in the seed business. Prior to joining KWS she worked for a Federal Authority in Germany in the field of biosafety assessment of GMO and authorizations under the national and European gene technology legislation. Dr. Matzk chairs the Biotechnology and Gene technology section of the German Plant Breeders Association BDP and is active in the European Seed Association ESA. Dr. Matzk is a deputy member of the German Central Biosafety Committee ZKBS, which advises the German Government. Dr. Matzk studied Plant breeding at the University of Halle and holds her Ph.D. in Molecular Biology from the University of Braunschweig.


Craig Rickard (CLI), Rickard is the Executive Director for Plant Biotechnology at CropLife International. Craig joined CropLife in 2007 and has coordinated the regulatory affairs, emerging markets, and advocacy programs for CropLife’s plant biotechnology network. His mission is to enable innovation for plant biotechnology highlighting the benefits it can bring across the agriculture value chain. Craig has worked as a Commercial Agriculture Lender and in Government Relations prior to joining CropLife. Craig obtained a Commerce Degree in Agriculture from the University of Guelph.

Shiping Zhang, Ph.D. (Dabeinong Biotech), is the Chief Scientist and the Head of Biotech R&D for Beijing Dabeinong Biotechnology Co., Ltd., in Beijing, China.  He was previously the Head of Regulatory Affairs for Syngenta China. He had worked for over 15 years in the United States at Dow AgroSciences LLC, Syngenta's Torrey Mesa Research Institute, and The Scripps Research Institute. Dr. Zhang has a wealth of experience and knowledge in industrial agricultural biotech R&D, especially with respect to plant transformation. Dr. Zhang received his Ph.D. in crop physiology from the University of Philippines and the International Rice Research Institute in the Philippines. He has a Master's Degree in Plant Genetics and Breeding from the Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences (CAAS) and a Bachelor’s Degree in Vegetable Science from Beijing Agricultural University (now known as China Agricultural University).


Anne Peronnet (Limagrain), is Quality Projects Manager at Limagrain Corporate, and is responsible to steer the implementation of ETS program for all relevant Limagrain Business Units. She has more than 15 years’ experience in quality and seed business (GM and conventional), starting with the implementation of stewardship for GM field crops for pharmaceuticals production. Then she entered Limagrain group in 2003, first within Limagrain Cooperative in the seed production department as agronomic and technical referent for growers. Then she moved to Limagrain Europe subsidiary to lead different projects supporting agronomic productions. She joined Limagrain Corporate since 2013 for her current position. She holds a double Master of Science Degree in Agronomy & Crop Productions and in Genetics & Plants Improvement from VetAgroSup School of Clermont-Ferrand and University of Clermont-Ferrand, France.


David Whalen (Forage Genetics International), is the Director of Regulatory Affairs and Quality Management Representative at Forage Genetics International, where David leads US and International regulatory initiatives and oversees the quality management system (QMS).David has worked with Monsanto and other collaborators to successfully obtain approvals for multiple Genetically Engineered alfalfa products in several countries.  He also was instrumental in building the QMS for Forage Genetics R&D and seed production.


Peter McHugh (BIO), General Counsel and Senior Vice President, Legal


Heather Spray (AgReliant Genetics)

Karin Dorgeloh (BASF)